Things I Do when I Need to Solve a Tech problem

Things I Do when I Need to Solve a Tech problem

ยท

6 min read

Tech problems are inevitable

Every developer has encountered a problem at least once in their career. It's unavoidable.

When I first started learning HTML and CSS, I ran into a fairly major problem (or so I thought ๐Ÿ˜…). I had just finished the HTML and was getting started on the CSS. To my dismay, the styles were not taking effect. I had only recently begun learning CSS, so I assumed I wasn't writing it (the CSS) correctly. I spent nearly an hour tweaking it until I decided to Google it and discovered almost immediately that the reason my CSS wasn't working was that I hadn't linked it to the HTML file. This made me feel like a complete idiot. ๐Ÿฅฒ

At that point, I resolved to make Google my friend and to never spend too much time on a problem without first consulting Google for a solution. This way of thinking has aided me innumerable times during my software development journey, and I'd like to write about the things I do, as well as the platforms and online communities I visit whenever I need help.

Getting my problems solved

I've received so much assistance from so many online platforms, people, and communities that it's impossible for me to remember them all. However, a select few stand out. This small group has helped me numerous times with both software development and non-software development issues. It is not guaranteed that you will find solutions to your technical problems on these websites, but there is a good chance that you will (if you ask nicely, of course). They are as follows:

  • Google (obviously ๐Ÿ˜‚)
  • Stack Overflow
  • Reddit
  • Discord Channels

Google it up

google-type.gif

If it isn't on Google, it doesn't exist.

To say that every developer has run into a problem once or twice is an understatement. Most, if not all, developers have encountered numerous issues during their career or journey as a developer. In most cases, everyone (including myself) does a Google search. If the problem cannot be solved with a quick Google search, the chances of it being solved are greatly reduced. When I'm looking for an existing solution to a problem, I usually turn to Google. It usually works, but sometimes it doesn't.

For example, a quick Google search solved the minor issue I was having with the stylesheet not working. All I had to do was go to Google and type in "why is my CSS not working", and I immediately got the solution. Screenshot from 2022-08-25 01-58-56.png

Many tech issues can be resolved with a simple Google search. It has been extremely beneficial to me, and not just in terms of software development. Google became my second home after I switched from Windows to Linux. My closest companion. It made the transition very simple and mostly stress-free. When I encounter a problem these days, I rarely spend time attempting to solve it myself. I just type it into Google. It is not necessary to try to reinvent the wheel.

Ask a question on Stack Overflow

Dear Stack Overflow, I'm nothing without you.

The question of how Stack Overflow was created without Stack Overflow is a running joke among developers. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Every developer has used Stack Overflow at some point. So many problems have already been solved on the platform. Most of the time, all you have to do is perform a Google search to find a Stack Overflow solution. However, there are times when the problem for which you are looking for a solution has not yet been solved. At times like this, you'll have to ask your own question on the Stack Overflow website.

I used to have problems deploying static sites built with HTML, Tailwind CSS, and JavaScript. For some reason unknown to me at the time, once the site was deployed to GitHub Pages, the CSS stopped working. I did a Google search, but nothing useful came up. So I decided to search on Stack Overflow, but to my surprise, I didn't find anything useful. At that point, I decided to ask my own question, and I received the answer. The solution was straightforward, but I would never have thought of it had I not asked. stckvrflw-1.png stckvrflw-2.png

A developer may believe that the answer to every programming problem can already be found on Stack Overflow, but this is not the case. So, if you ever run into a problem for which there is no existing solution, you should consider asking on Stack Overflow.

Reddit

Reddit is a network of communities called Subreddits where people can keep up with their interests, hobbies, and passions. I mostly use this platform to keep up with things that interest me, such as fiction, but it can also be useful for solving tech problems, whether they involve software development or not. reddit-dude.gif

There have been times when looking for a solution to a problem has led me to interesting posts on various Subreddits about the topic of the problem. I've learned a lot from Reddit posts about software development, but where Reddit truly shines is in keeping up with various software development topics. A developer, for example, who wants to learn more about Tailwind CSS might find the Tailwind CSS Subreddit useful and informative. They could also ask questions and seek the advice of other developers who are more knowledgeable about the subject under discussion.

Join Discord Servers

Many online platforms have Discord Servers where developers can chat and interact. Discord Servers are fantastic places to find answers to software development problems. The FreeCodeCamp discord server is one example. Developers following the FreeCodeCamp curriculum can interact with one another and ask each other questions about software development. Another example is The Odin Project's (TOP) discord server. This is the Discord community in which I am active. discord-ss.png

This is a server for students enrolled in TOP's software development curriculum. Developers can ask questions and find solutions to their problems here. There are various channels for various topics such as JavaScript, Ruby, problem-solving, success stories, creations showcase, and so on.

When a developer is learning from an online resource or platform and runs into issues, they should check to see if there is a discord server for that online platform. If a discord server is available, it will greatly accelerate their learning process and reduce the amount of time spent on problem solving.

Conclusion

It can be difficult to deal with challenges when developing software, and no developer is exempt from them. Since problems will inevitably arise, it is essential for developers to understand how to address them quickly so that we may keep doing what we are meant to do, which is building amazing things.

Thank you for your time.

ย